I only ran a marathon!!

Standard

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in a race recap, I’m now in the final few weeks of uni and there have been some uber important, uber intensive bits of work to get done first!

Well, Sunday April 15th 2012 was Brighton Marathon. We set the alarm for 5.45am and got up and had our breakfast. My race day breakfast without fail is gluten-free porridge oats made with water, a scoop of chocolate protein powder and a banana (ate on the way).

I didn’t feel too great at this point, had a bad cold and sore throat which were not what I wanted on a day I was running a marathon! I made sure I had a pack of tissues to take round with me as I knew a runny nose would annoy me.

We set off for Brighton and arrived at 7.15am which was perfect timing as we didn’t have to queue for long to get into the carpark. We then got the bus to the starting area.

I was feeling so nervous at this point! Having never run a marathon before, total eeek! We hung around and got ourselves ready. Handed in our kitbags and off we went to the starting pens. Rob is faster than me and so he was a few pens in front.

While waiting for the countdown and to cross the start line I felt so emotional! It was really silly, felt like I was going to launch into a full-on sob! It wasn’t long, only 17 minutes, when I finally crossed the start line.

It was a fab atmosphere and we went all over, it was weird to be running along roads I normally walk along when shopping!

My fuel of choice was Clif Shot Bloks and Powerade. The Bloks went in my little running pouch along with my tissues and I took a Powerade with me. After I had been running for 1 hour I ate a Blok every 20 minutes or so, so I used up 2 whole packs of Bloks by the end.

It was so cool! I really felt great and really enjoyed the running. My nose and upper lip were so sore though from constantly blowing my nose, but the lovely St Johns Ambulance people had plenty of Vaseline for me to smear on my face every so often. Lovely!!

I had a few moment where it was really bizarre and I looked at my Garmin and went “oh that’s gone quick!” or “oooh 3 hours already!” it really did fly by!

In my training the furthest I had run was 20 miles and so I got to the 20 mile marker and was very aware that I was entering unknown territory. Also very aware that this is what people call the wall, or the road to hell!!!! BUT it felt fine! My marathon playlist was keeping me going, with lots of boppy tracks. When I started to feel it was after the 25 mile marker. Knowing you’re so close but what feels like so far is quite draining! You just have to keep going though, and the support at this beyond and to the end was amazing. But definitely, the last mile and a half I found hard. What also made it harder was that I had my eye on the time and I so desperately wanted to get in under 5 hours and I was creeping ever closer to the 5 hour mark! But I dug deep and I did it.

I completed a marathon in 4 hours, 57 minutes and 32 seconds!!!

This is what was written on the back of the finisher’s t-shirt…

Pinned ImageSource

I was over the moon!!! It’s a really bizarre feeling having completed a marathon because all your focus for months is on that one thing and then you complete it! That Sunday I was on cloud 9 and for the next couple of days when people ask about it. But then the aches and pains wear off and people stop asking, and that’s it. Very strange.

I was very lucky on marathon day, I didn’t get a single blister, or a single injury. I spent 2 days after feeling tight and stiff, but by the Wednesday I felt like my normal self again. That’s also why it’s a little strange, because you think- was that it?!

So, to avoid the post-marathon blues I am now focusing my training on my next goal, a 2.25 mile swim at Hampton Court on 15th July 2012. I have been looking at a couple of races and triathlons before that as well, but will tell you all about them another day!

I will definitely do a marathon again, it really was an amazing experience. I’d love to do the Disney Marathon! That would be awesome!!! I have debated long and hard about entering next year’s Brighton Marathon, but have decided not to as it is potentially going to be my first year of teaching and will be hard enough without that. But 2014 is another matter!!! 😉

Sorry to have made you all wait so long!! I am officially a marathoner!!! Whoop!!!

One response »

  1. Yaay, marathon time twin!
    I know what you mean – the leg soreness goes and so does the ‘attention’ from other people, it is a bit weird!
    I’d like to do Brighton again at some point, was a fab experience.

I love to read your comments!

