Birthdays and holidays- part two!

Standard

Now for tales of my holibobs!

We arrived at Dalaman airport and we had a shuttle bus waiting to take us to our apartments. It was roughly a 2 hour drive to the town we were staying in, Icmeler. We arrived at our apartments, very tired and very sweaty and just wanted to shower and have a kip. However, our room wasn’t ready because the people were having a late checkout. Aaaargh! So we waited 3 hours before we could get into our room. We had such a lovely little apartment, it was a bit like a loft apartment! Our room was on the fourth floor at the back so it was really nice and quiet.

We got showered and had a sleep before we went out for dinner. Had a lovely mixed meze starter and a mixed grill for my main.

The weather was superb! We had varying temperatures from 32 degrees to 41 degrees whilst we were there and didn’t see a single cloud in the sky.

On our first day we had a Turkish hamam (Turkish bath) where you have a sauna, get scrubbed, then have a soap massage, get washed off and then have an oil massage. It was bliss!

Source

We ate a lot of lovely yummy Turkish food and tried to recreate our own a couple of evenings.

One evening we went out for cocktails! I had a Pina Colada and Rob had a White Russian. Wow, it was very alcoholic!!!

This was the view from one of our evening walks.

While we were there we went on a boat trip, and this was all day and included lunch. Such excellent value for money and we had a lovely day. This was our last day 😦

 I will be back with another holiday instalment tomorrow 🙂

Happy Saturday everyone! I have had the most productive day ever! We have cleared out so much stuff from the flat, been to the tip and generally getting the flat in tip top shape! You know when you just get to that point when you know you don’t need to keep things anymore? I feel as though I’ve had a bit of a soul cleansing almost!

We now have a huge crate full of stuff to eBay, and there will be more to add to it over the next few weeks I think.

Yesterday’s lunch was this yummy salad monster! It was spinach leaves, tomato, gherkins, peppadew peppers, olives, chilli cashews, stuffed vine leaves and garlic maynnaise.

We had prawn curry with cauliflower rice for dinner before we went to our friends for a catch up. There I ate a whole bag of sweet popcorn! Cor did I feel sick afterwards!! I just couldn’t stop myself, it was so yummy!

Before we went out to the tip early doors this morning I had some oatcakes with peanut butter and banana. Dark Chocolate Dreams! Nomnomnom!

We then had a bacon butty (gluten-free roll) 😀

Dinner was one of the most amazing things I have ever eaten! Just as good, if not better than restaurant pasta!!!!

I will called this Salmon Pasta! I will post the recipe for this later on, it was out of this world! We had it with some garlic bread that I made with some gluten-free pizza bases.

What a monster post this has turned into! I am off to chill out and get an early night. We are up super early tomorrow morning because I have got my first ever half marathon- Nike Run to the Beat– eeeeeeeeeeeeek!!!!!!!! Will let you know how I get on 😀

Enjoy your Saturday evening 🙂

5 responses »

  1. Glad you had a great holiday and a productive Saturday. My parents and my best friend and her family have just returned from Turkey to, it seems like a very popular destination at the moment! Good luck with the run, I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. Ohhhhh man, your salad is possibly the salad from my dreams. It sounds & looks divine! Glad you had a cracking holiday – it sounds like you had a terrific time!

I love to read your comments!

