What a weekend!

Standard

Well folks, what a weekend! There’s been sun, rain, wind! Runs, gold medals, BBQs!!

Friday started with an omelette, spinach and cucumber

Lunch was eggy cups, a chicken thigh and salad

Dinner Friday night was a yummy kebab from the Turkish place, with onion salad and an Ainsley quinoa and basmati rice mix. This was really tasty.

Saturday I had my eyebrown tamed in town, and before going I had soft boiled eggs and asparagus dippers for breakfast. Check out my cute Hello Kitty egg cup!! I absolutely adore Hello Kitty 🙂

We had our usual tea and paper reading in town, it was scorchio out there! I had a green tea this time.

We had lunch at home, which was a bit of a concoction! I always find that by the weekend we’re running quite low, so weekend lunches aren’t quite as organised as midweek ones. Does anyone else find this?! I had chicken thighs, roasted kale, olives, spring onions, gherkins, baby mushrooms cooked in lemon juice and chilli. Homemade garlic mayo.

Had a green juice in the afternoon for a bit of zing!

After that we did all our chores, washing, cleaning etc and then went to my Dad’s. My Dad is back for a week sorting out his house before the completion date which is a week tomorrow! It will be so weird when the house is sold. I grew up in that house, and being there and knowing that this will be the last week is very strange.

We had a BBQ in Dad’s back garden, this is rather dark, but I think you get the picture! We had spatchcock poussin; kebabs made with beef, peppers and tomatoes; salad; cauliflower rice; mixed minted beans.

Today I went on my longest run ever! I ran/walked 8 miles. I was so chuffed! I actually felt fine. It’s a bloomin’ long way though! I managed 1hr 28 minutes and 54 seconds. It did pour with rain though and I got soaked! And it was really windy. But I felt so good after! I do feel like I’ve got ants inside my legs now, is that normal??!

I had to wait to see Mo Farah run the 5k before I could go out and run… and boy am I glad he did!!!! Woweee!!! Go Mo!!! Rob and I jumped off our sofa and cheered when he got gold. 😀

Before the run I made a smoothie from mixed leaves, a banana, a scoop of protein powder, some rice milk, xanthan gum, topped with chopped dates and coconut. Yum!

I followed the run with stretching and a lovely(!) ice bath, then had this monster for lunch.

I had it with some of the raw onion bread I bought and some homemade pate based upon this recipe. It was delicious! I wasn’t sure what to expect but it was good.

Veggie Pate

  • 1 cup juice pulp
  • 2 spring onions
  • 2 tablespoons Braggs liquid aminos
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 3 tablespoons pumpkin seeds
  • Enough water to create a pate-like consistency

Put the pumpkin seeds in a food processor and whizz until broken up, add all the other ingredients and whizz together. Lastly add some water a little at a time to create a consistency that you’re happy with. Serve!

We were back at my Dad’s this evening to help with packing some bits and pieces and sorting out. I am just waiting for my dinner to cook! We’re having spatchcock poussin, sweet potato and some green veg.

Hope you’ve all had a great weekend!! Before I go, I just want to share this really weird deal with you. 1 bottle of washing up liquid = £1.85 and the offer was buy 2 for £1.50. How does that work??!!

2 responses »

I love to read your comments!

