Happy Mondays!

Standard

Hello and welcome to a new week! Cannot believe that the end of this week is August Bank Holiday. 3 weeks tomorrow until my birthday! Whoop!!!

Had my blood tests this morning and all went well, I’m a total wuss though 🙂 I also found out that I’ve got to go to the hospital for an appointment as well, so got to wait to hear about that. Back for blood test results first thing next Wednesday. I have got to eat gluten daily until I get some results that say otherwise, boo 😦

Lunch was chicken salad with leftover roast chicken, new potatoes, coleslaw, runner beans, lettuce, cucumber, tomato and corn on the cob. I ate the corn before I remembered to take a piccie! When I went food shopping they had run out completely of spinach! I have to say I’m not overly keen on iceberg lettuce, but it was ok. I might put the rest in a smoothie. Bought some spinach tonight!!

I have had a bit of a baking frenzy tonight! I have decided that if I am having to eat gluten then I’m going to make it homemade stuff rather than processed, as I know this will help. It won’t make me feel better but at least  I won’t have loads of E numbers or whatever making me bounce off the ceiling!

I made cheese and Marmite scones!!!

Dinner was a chilli con carne from the freezer with cauliflower rice cooked with onion. Topped with natural yoghurt and a side of cheese scone.

And I then made a sundried tomato loaf of bread.

I also made these fruity protein muffins! I adapted the recipe slightly and made 12 muffins.

  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • 2 sachets of strawberry and apple puree
  • 0.5 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 0.5 tablespoon of ginger
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3 medium egg whites 2 medium egg whites
  • 1 packet of Nak’d cherry raisins

Mixed all and baked in the oven for approximately 12 minutes. They smell so sweet!

Hope you’ve all had a great start to the week. I am off to pack my gym bag now and then bedtime! Need my energy for spinning tomorrow 😀

Don’t forget my GIVEAWAY!!!

7 responses »

  1. Wow you certainly have been busy in the kitchen! Those muffins and bread look amazing. I think you have the right idea with making your own gluten containing stuff, as you say at least then you know what’s in it!

  2. Lots of baking! That loaf looks really good! Do you have a bread maker or did you just use a loaf pan?

I love to read your comments!

