Ice ice baby!

Standard

Run this morning was just so fab! I woke up before my alarm, I definitely have my mojo back! I ran 5km and it just felt good. Didn’t push myself and took it easy. It is such a pleasure to be back running again!

Breakfast was smoothie made with spinach, banana, blueberries, maca, Udos Beyond Greens, scoop of protein powder, teaspoon of xanthan gum. Mmmm!

Lunch was homemade veggie burger with salad and cashew nut cream cheese. I followed the recipe but also added some fresh chopped parsley and basil.

Veggie Burgers, makes 6 quarter pounders (I use the Lakeland burger press)

  • 1 tin kidney beans- mashed
  • Finely chopped onion
  • 2 carrots grated
  • 2 oz breadcrumbs- can be any type, I’ve used homemade gluten free bread for this.
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cumin
  • 4 tablespoons of fresh chopped coriander or a good shake of mixed dried herbs
  • 2 tablespoons of tomato puree
  • 1 small egg (or a flax egg)
  • Sprinkle of chilli powder to taste
  • Ground black pepper to taste

Mix it all up and then divide into burgers. Grill until brown! I cook mine in the oven and they take about 30-40 minutes. Yummy!!

Spinning tonight was super sweaty! The air con was broken, and so it was sweatier than normal. I love this class, Danny the instructor knows just how to do it. Rob took a picture of me afterwards, oh my word!!

I also had my first ever ice bath! My legs have been feeling a bit ‘ish’ and I really don’t want any more injuries, so into the cold bath it was!!! Aaaaaaargh! Once I was in though it was fine. My cat loves it as well!

Rob swears by them, and he’s run a marathon and several halves and he has never been injured, so I’m a convert! And my legs genuinely feel like new after it. Amazing.

Thank goodness for dinners in the freezer because the planned dinner was chicken, but it hadn’t fully defrosted! So we had vegetable curry with cauliflower rice. I cooked the cauliflower in some turmeric and garam masala for a bit of a different flavour. Yum!

This has highlighted to me though that I have very little in terms of meals in the freezer, so must get batch cooking again.

Hope you’ve had a good Tuesday! It has got very dark very early here, a sign that it’s nearer my birthday perhaps!! Ha ha! 😀 Less than a month, soooooooo excited!

Before I go, you must check out Jemma’s giveaway over on her blog, such a good one!

5 responses »

  1. I am laughing my head off at the pictures of you in the bath with Alan 🙂
    that cashew cream cheese recipe looks gorgeous – wow I am going to try that as soon as I have some cashews!!
    How slim are you now ?!!

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog because I’m loving your food pictures! I have such a hard time coming up with meal ideas, especially for lunch, and the veggie burger over lettuce looks great. Thanks!

  3. Ann- Alan makes me laugh all the time! little monkey! The cashew nut cream cheese is indeed yummy. Love the garlic and herbs in it.

    Laura- Glad I’m not the only one that gets sweaty! The burgers are one of my favourite things to make.

    Tessa- Thanks! It is tasty 🙂

    Lapiattini- Thanks! Hope to provide you with more ideas 🙂

I love to read your comments!

