Nom nom chilli con carne!

Standard

Happy Monday all!

Last night’s dinner was goooooood. Cooked up some cod fillets with garlic, coconut oil and Turkish red pepper. Served with roasted vegetables, spinach, olives and runner beans.

I also did a bit of baking at the same time and made some banana and mixed nut muffins, much to Rob’s delight! I used this recipe and used mixed nuts rather than walnuts.

Today I had a bit of a lie in (as much as you can midweek anyway!) and had a yummy breakfast of omelette with tomatoes and spinach.

I wore a plain outfit of black trousers and black top, but wore this lovely necklace which I bought from Accessorize last year. I love the little parrot!

Lunch was roast chicken, spinach, cucumber, tomatoes and runner beans. Yum!!

Snack was sliced cucumber.

Dumbbell workout this evening with some foam rollering. This is so good! Love this piece of kit.

Dinner was a yummy chilli con carne with salad.

Chilli Con Carne, serves 4

  • 500g minced beef
  • Tin/Tetrapak of red kidney beans (or dried, soaked and cooked)
  • Onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • Mixed herbs
  • Squirt of tomato puree
  • 2 Tins/Tetrapaks of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 or 2 red chillis, deseeded and finely chopped. (Or I use chilli powder and some crushed dried chillis)
  • Dash of olive oil
  • Beef stock
  • Courgette, diced

Start by frying off the onion until soft, add the garlic and then the minced beef. Fry the beef until browned and break it all up while it cooks. Add the tomato puree, beef stock, shake of mixed herbs, chilli. Stir all together and then add the chopped tomatoes, kidney beans and courgette. The key to this is to let it simmer for an hour. This makes sure that all the flavours merge and it is tres yummy!!

I have a lovely evening in the kitchen!! My food processor has been on overdrive 🙂

I made some peanut butter protein balls, I didn’t make 8 though, I made 13. Rob really likes these for before a run, they are really good fuel.

I also made some Samoas babies, which is a variation on fudge babies. If you haven’t made fudge babies before you really must!!!

I also made some frozen avocado nut cups, one of my favourite foods ever!!!

And finally I made some veggie burgers!! Phew! I will be back with those in another post along with the recipe.

I most definitely have my mojo back because I am back and cooking up a storm in the kitchen! Sad as it sounds, it is one of my favourite places to be. I need to sort out my larder and baking cupboard this week. Rob is very happy that I am back on form! Funny that!!! 😉

I am also very excited about the fact that I am going out for a run in the morning!!!! Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

Going to have mug of this tea before bed! Love the picture, makes me feel so cosy.

Hope you all had a great Monday, don’t forget that  I am going to be having a GIVEAWAY soon!!!

8 responses »

  1. Wow you have been busy! Hope you liked those muffins! Everyone who’s tried them loves them when I’ve made them, and oh my god how lush is that necklace? 🙂

  2. Laura- I love it when I’m busy in the kitchen!! Rob loves the muffins, I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve made them for him. When I ask what kind of muffins he’d like, he usually says the pumpkin ones or the banana nut ones!!

    I totally fell in love with the necklace when I saw it 🙂

  3. Wow – you are back up and running in more ways than one – lucky Rob!!
    Thanks for posting the recipes – the photo’s look stunning – and your necklace looks beautiful – love the colour you were right to wear black with it to show it off:)

  4. Ann- he is indeed lucky! He has such a sweet tooth. It is one of my favourite necklaces.

    Jemma- thanks! I love pottering in the kitchen with the radio on, singing very badly!!

    Tessa- it was a real find coming across your blog. Thanks!

  5. Sarah- I love it too!! You must make sure you allow plenty of time to cook it, that’s what makes the difference I think. Let me know!

    The snack box is too cute! Came as part of a set of 4 from Paperchase!

I love to read your comments!

