1st August- wow!

Standard

Wow, is it really the 1st August already?! Time really does fly when you’re having fun 🙂

I have been thinking about this coming month and decided that I need to have a bit of a plan and some goals. I don’t work too well when I don’t have a focus and tend just to coast. And I like to achieve stuff! The time is going to pass anyway so I might as well spend it creating achievements.

Source

I am going to try and cook a couple more new dishes. I tend to keep to the same repertoire of dishes, so need to break out! I’m going to try a few new sweet ideas as well.

Source

I am going to crack on with my half marathon training and build up my running.

Source

I would like to develop my upper body strength and be able to aim for 10 full push ups by the end of August!!

Source

I have got some uni work that needs doing before I return so I’m going to aim to have half of this done by the end of August.

Source

I am going to make sure I try and stick to a proper routine with regards to food prep and exercise. I am going to write my plan up on the whiteboard in the kitchen and see if this helps. I know it seems as though I have it pretty sussed, I feel as though I could be a bit more prepared. It takes such a lot of time and effort to make sure foods and things are prepped!!

Source

Finally, I’d like to be 10st by the end of August. I’m probably better off saying I want to lose X inches, I’m not overly fussed with numbers on the scales, and if I put on weight but lose inches then I’ll be happy with that, it’s just a starting point. And that’s less than 1lb a week so nothing drastic.

Source

This weekend I am away in London so I am going to do my 3 runs on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. The plan for this week is 2 miles this evening. 3 miles on Wednesday and then 5-6 miles on Friday. I am going to be doing run/walking so that I don’t injure myself and get to build up gradually. It might be a bit of a mean feat trying to aim for a half marathon in 8 weeks, but I will do it, and if I have to run/walk then so be it. This is just a small step towards my ultimate goal of Brighon Marathon next April.

Last night’s dinner was so yummy! And so easy! Beef, yellow pepper, onion and courgette threaded on skewers; roasted red pepper; stirfried courgette, yellow pepper and onion in olive oil, garlic and herbs; quinoa tabbouleh; rocket salad and olives.

The quinoa tabbouleh is really easy. Rinse one cup of quinoa in water, then cook in one and a half cups of boiling water or stock until all the liquid is absorbed and the seeds separate. Stir into the quinoa some lemon juice, olive oil, garlic and mint. Finely chop some cucumber and tomato and stir into the quinoa. I normally like to add spring onions but didn’t have any last night. T’is very yummy and easy! You can add whatever veg you like! Red onion is nice, so is grated carrot.

Breakfast today was scrambled egg on a mix of rocket, spinach and watercress.

Lunch was smoked salmon, hardboiled eggs, rocket, spinach, watercress, olives, cucumber and tomatoes. Yummy! Followed by watermelon which is my absolute fave.

Food shopping was done after work, bit annoying as I like to do it on a Sunday but not too bad! We went to Waitrose, it is my most favourite place to food shop!

Quick 2 mile walk/run of 5 minute run/1 minute walk. Feeling ok still! Touch wood 🙂 Took my time and did this in 25 minutes. I felt like I could have done a bit more so it’s looking promising. Before my run I fuelled up with half a small pot of goat’s yoghurt (cow’s milk upsets my tummy), some Rude Health granola and a few berries.

I love this Rude Health granola and such a simple ingredients list. So good 🙂

Then a lush lush lush dinner of roast chicken, roasted stuffed peppers with cauliflower ‘rice’, roasted broccoli and salad. This was so nice!!! More watermelon! I will have to freeze this because there is so much of it and Rob is not overly keen. The cauliflower rice was really good! I’ll definitely be making this on a regular basis, so quick and easy, and tasty too! I just thought, you cannot see the cauliflower rice, d’oh!

This evening I made some sesame milk, so so easy! 1 cup of sesame seeds, 4 cups of water and blend! Strain the pulp. Voila!

And then with the leftover pulp I made these ‘cakes’ but instead of cherries and gojis I added Nak’d cherry raisins.

Simply yummy!!

Each time I have posted I have said that I am off for a bath, and each time I actually haven’t had one because I’ve ended up pottering and then it’s been too late. Well tonight the bath is running as I type!! So I will definitely be off for a bath tonight.

Hope you’ve had a great Monday 😀

One response »

  1. Love your August goals, I need to refocus on my push ups, I can only manage 4! Lovely looking food too, I’ve been making watermelon smoothies with the stuff out of the freezer, its so delicious. Hope you enjoyed your bath!

I love to read your comments!

