Friday is here!

Standard

Happy Friday all! Boy am I glad it’s Friday. This has been a veeeeery long week. So much so that I took today off work as holiday. I slept in until a monstrous 12:50 this afternoon! I must have needed it as I feel so much better now. I even had to have a nap when I got in from work yesterday and went to bed early.

I went out this afternoon and tried to run… and it worked! No pain 😀 I ran for 2 miles, slow and steady. Had to keep telling myself to slow down! It was good though and I did the 2 miles in around 19 minutes. I should probably have run slower but it felt ok. Now to start half marathon training!!

I have had a real fruits and veggies day today, I really felt as though I needed it. Had a humungous green juice after my run. Then promptly chucked in the oven a load of veg and roasted this, had it with pepper, tomato, cucumber and olives.

Then a plate of strawberries, blueberries, banana and apple, topped with coconut and ground almonds.

All washed down with a yummy Teapigs chocolate flake tea.

Yesterday’s eats were very comforting. Breakfast was a yummy smoothie. (no piccie, sorry!)

Lunch was salad bought from Sainsburys with a hot chicken thigh. Needed the hot food!!

Yummy snacks of strawberries and apple.

And then dinner was Doves gluten/wheat free pasta with pesto (sundried tomatoes, garlic, cashews and nutritional yeast)- ultimate comfort

then chocolate banana ‘ice cream’ for dessert. That was frozen banana whizzed up with chocolate protein powder and raw cacao nibs. This was just like eating chocolate ice cream! It was so good.

 What do you do when you’re feeling a bit pants? 

Today’s day off has been pretty chilled. Got several loads of washing on, going to do a bootsale on Sunday, so have been pricing stuff up and that is about it! Nice and chilled, just what I needed. And I got to sit in the sun with a mug of Clipper Organic Orange and Coconut tea, lush!! 

I have a recipe for you as promised!

 

Turkey Chilli- serves 4 hungry people

  • 1 packet of diced turkey breast
  • 1 courgettes, cut in half lengthways and sliced
  • 1 pepper- any colour I used green, diced into fairly large pieces
  • 1 onion, diced
  • Large handful of mushrooms quarted
  • 2 tins/tetrapaks of chopped tomatoes
  • Squirt tomato puree
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • Sprinkle of mixed herbs
  • Chilli- either fresh, powdered, dried- whatever tickles your tastebuds! I use a whole red chili.
  • 1 tin/tetrapak of red kidney beans

Saute the onion and garlic in some oil (I used coconut oil) (I use a big stock pan) and when soft add the turkey breast and cook until browning. Add all the veg, the herbs and the chilli, and fry for a couple of minutes. Add the 2 tins of tomatoes, the tin of kidney beans, a squirt of tomato puree and stir to mix it all up. Simmer on a medium heat, regularly stirring for about 40 minutes or until until the liquid is reduced. Make sure to check the heat and the seasoning to preference.

Once cooked, devour!!!

This recipe is so versatile you can add whatever you want to it! I have added spinach to the mix before now, and you could probably add any other veg you can think of. Maybe carrots, or celery?

I was a very lucky girl today as well as I had a gift from my lovely boyfriend, I have wanted one of these for ages and haven’t been able to find the right one! Can’t wait until my next run to try it out! (It’s an armband for my iPod)

I am going to get ready now, am off to dinner to my favourite restaurant, a local Turkish place which is sooooo yummy. I think I might have a glass of wine as well! Although, haven’t had one in over a month so might be a little piddled!!!

Enjoy your evening 😀

2 responses »

I love to read your comments!

