Restaurant review- Aloka Brighton

Standard

I was very lucky last week to be able to meet up with the lovely Laura whilst she was down in this neck of the woods. She suggested we go to Aloka Quality of Life Centre’s Restaurant.

The Aloka Centre includes an evening restaurant, day time cafe, treatment rooms, a yoga studio and a crystal and cosmetics shop.

The restaurant serves seasonal food which I like, I try and buy seasonal where possible at home and it’s nice to see restaurants doing it too. The menu was entirely vegan with a lot of raw options. Now, I’m not vegan but this doesn’t stop me from loving vegan food! And especially raw vegan food! I get quite frustrated when people insist on labelling us as this or that. Anyhoo,

This was the restaurant, we had a lovely table by the window. It had such a nice feel to it and I certainly felt very comfortable there. It had a lovely clean interior…

Once we had ordered we were given a raw amuse bouche of seaweed, topped with grated apple and daikon and a gooseberry…

This was really nice. I have never had seaweed before in this manner and I would definitely try it again. Then came our starter, we both ordered the same. This was a raw spicy carrot houmous with raw crackers for dipping…

This was totally lush!!! The carrot houmous was really moussy and the crackers were just perfect. A dehydrator was on my wish list anyway and has now been moved towards the top of the list! I’d love to be able to make crackers like this. I could quite happily have eaten a whole bowl of this carrot moussse-dip-houmous thing for my main!

For our mains Laura ordered the Zen Buddha Bowl which consisted of sticky brown rice topped with roast hokkadio squash, steamed nettle, marinaded seaweed, tender stem broccoli, diakon and beetroot pickle and roasted lotus root chips. It also came with a bowl of barley miso broth with ginger, spinach, black sesame seeds and silken tofu…

Laura said this was really yummy,  I quote “This was just out of this world delicious, the mix of unusual and exotic flavours was so good!”

I ordered the completely raw Botanical Living Special…

This was so nice. There was a raw cracker, the tomato was stuffed. There was beetroot, olives, mushrooms, courgette. It was just so nice and so filling. And just look at the presentation! Everything was so beautifully presented.

And we couldn’t not have dessert, I mean just look at this…

How could you turn this down!! It was raw vegan chocolate mint cheesecake. It was just so amazingly beautiful. Quite possibly the nicest dessert I have *ever* had!! We were quite literally speechless whilst eating this. It was perfect and not sickly, and so creamy yet crunchy. Total yum! It was gluten free, dairy free, raw and sugar free! And you would never have guessed.

The lovely Laura!

Me! Can you see I am just poised waiting to dig in!

The whole meal including drinks and a well-deserved tip came to £30 each which, considering I could not eat another thing, I thought was such good value for money. The waitress was so nice and so knowledgeablem it made a refreshing change.

This was such a great meal and I will definitely be returning, it was quite possibly one of the best meals I have ever had, and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. Laura went back for lunch the next day, lucky her! You can see her lunch review here. And many thanks Laura for letting me use your piccies 🙂

I cannot wait until I can go back 😀

One response »

I love to read your comments!

