Trying out new recipes!

Standard

What has happened to our lovely summer?! It was only a couple of weeks ago it was so hot I got sunburned during my triathlon, and now I’m wearing jumpers at work!! Crazy! It will probably snow tomorrow 😀

Breakfast was a luscious smoothie in a bowl! This was made from frozen banana, frozen mixed berries, maca powder, coconut oil, huge handful of spinach and almond milk. Had this with a mug of lemon hot water.

Lunch was spinach, tomatoes, cucumber, smoked salmon, boiled egg and it was supposed to have some lamb meatball/kofte things with it but I had left them in the fridge at home!! Fail!

Yummy strawberries and grapes that someone had brought in because it was their birthday, along with loooooads of cakes, but I didn’t have one of those!

Had a pilates class before a quick bash on the stationary bike for 10 minutes. I love pilates, really works my core and I find it helps with my back pain too because we do a lot of full body stretching. Walked home along the seafront, I am so lucky to live so close to the sea, I love it.

Dinner was a new recipe that I’ve never tried before- Holiday Frittata. This is from Dax Moy’s Original ED Cookbook which can be bought from the link. I had this served with salad and it was really nice, I think next time I might add some chilli. There’s also enough left to have for lunch tomorrow.

 

 

Ingredients

*½ medium onion, minced- I used a whole red onion
*4 medium cloves garlic, chopped- I only used 2
*2 tablespoons fresh sage, chopped- I used 1 tablespoon of dried
*¼ lb ground organic lamb or turkey (free range)- I used organic lamb mince
*2 tablespoons butter- I used 1 tablespoon of coconut oil
*2 cups rinsed and finely chopped kale, (stems removed)
*2 whole eggs- I used 5 whole eggs
*3 egg whites
*sea salt and black pepper to taste
Directions:
Preheat the grill on low. Heat half the oil in a frying pan.
Sauté onion over medium heat, for about 3 minutes, stirring often. Add garlic, sage, ground lamb or turkey, and cook for another 3 minutes on medium heat, breaking up clumps. Add kale and the other half of the oil. Reduce heat to low and continue to cook covered about 5 more minutes. Season with salt, pepper and mix. Beat eggs, season with a pinch of salt and pepper, and pour on top of mixture evenly. Cook on low for another 2 minutes without stirring. Put under the grill and cook until golden brown.

We had dessert too! Banana ice cream with apple muffins! The banana ice cream is simply frozen banana whizzed up in a food processor with whatever you like!

The muffins were this recipe, again from Dax Moy’s ED Cookbook  (makes six muffins)
Ingredients
*1 cup mashed banana

*¾ cup fresh-squeezed orange juice I used apple juice and 200ml
*1 tablespoon orange zest apple peel
*2 tablespoons olive oil I used coconut oil
*1 ¼ cup rice flour I used a mix of ground almonds and coconut flour
*1 ½ teaspoons baking powder- I forgot this!!

Directions

In large bowl mix, bananas, orange zest apple peel, orange juice apple juice, and oil.

Add flour and baking powder. Blend well.

Fill six 2 1/2 inch nonstick muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake at 180 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

 

These were nice! Very sweet though for something which has no sugar. It is more cakey than muffiny but really nice!! I will experiment further with the flour mixture and baking powder next time might help, d’oh!

Do you think if I eat too much spinach I’ll turn into it or turn green?! I have just realised that everything I have eaten today has had spinach in it!

I think I might have a bath tonight, it’s just feeling quite wintery so bath and PJs I think!!

2 responses »

I love to read your comments!

